Emerald Tweed Bag – Magee

Tweed Bag

I really like tweed, so when I saw the fabric squares and instructions for the Emerald Bag on the Magee stand at the Alexandra Palace Sewing Exhibition, I did not hesitate to buy it. There were two other bag designs/instructions on the Magee stand which were simpler and easier to make but they were not as interesting as the Emerald Bag.

The bag consists of 17 (6″ x 6″) squares sewn together in five rows. The back seams had to be pressed flat open and then a cotton lining was attached. The handles were made from a long rectangle of tweed. On the lining, I had to sew 3 medium size snaps to fasten the bag to secure it, as otherwise it just falls open.

This was quite a difficult bag to make as a different number of squares were required for each row and it was time consuming. However, I am delighted with the finished bag and its so unique.  I have not seen another bag like it anywhere else.

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Bag and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.