The Mathilde – Tilly & The Buttons

IMG-20140716-00985
IMG-20140716-00988

I really like the Mathilde pattern’s (Tilly & The Buttons) vintage style and elegant design. And the button back is most interesting and makes the Blouse look unique.

This is a clever pattern which incorporates many different sewing techniques, so its a great one for learning. A colour instruction booklet is included which is really helpful and makes it easier.

I made this Blouse in a sheer poly viscose fabric which suits this pattern well. I wanted a vintage looking print so chose a bold polka dot. You cannot go wrong with a polka dot print.  As this fabric is sheer, I made French seams for a neater finish. I lengthened the Blouse slightly.

I chose to make a gathered bodice instead of tucks down the front as I prefer this style. There are bust darts, set-in sleeves and the lower edge of sleeves are gathered and cuffs attached. I like the romantic look of the full sleeves. There are 6 floral buttons down the back.

I would like to make another Mathilde in a different fabric/print. I am not sure whether to make another gathered bodice or to make tucks.

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Blouse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.