Chic Cowl Neck Shift – Indygo Junction I/J 908

CowlShift.F

The Chic Cowl Neck Shift pattern from Indygo Junction has two options of either a tunic or a dress. I chose the dress which is knee length and made it in a medium weight cotton knit jersey which is quite thick as I wanted this dress to be warm enough to wear during the winter. The pattern recommends using cotton. I chose the sleeveless option with a double cowl neck which consists of 4 pieces. There is also the option of elbow length sleeves.

CowlShift.B

This pattern is pull-on – there is no zip. However, it includes a front and back casing with drawstring at the waist for some shape, but I omitted this and substituted a double back belt with buttons. I also omitted the oversized pocket. There are bust darts and armhole facings which I understitched to keep them in place.

I will wear this sleeveless shift over a long sleeved vest top for the winter. I really like the double cowl neck which adds a 1960s look as well as the slight A-line silhouette. I will make another one in a lighter weight fabric.

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Dress, Knits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.