Cape – Burda Young 7313

GreyCape

I find capes appealing to make, I like their vintage style – maybe its because I enjoy watching period dramas (in which capes are heavily featured) and admiring the beautiful garments – the period dramas Mr Selfridge and The Paradise are favourites of mine.

This was one of my first garments to make as its an easy pattern for beginners (there are no sleeves). This elbow-length cape consists of 3 pieces. I made version B in a wool mix fabric and used suit lining which is better quality than satin lining. I made a  bow out of jersey knit and added two fabric buttons to match the cape. The lace trim is hand-sewn to the hem. I used a hook/eye closure at the top.

I think capes are an interesting alternative to a jacket, especially worn over a special occasion dress. I have been told that this cape looks very 1920s – I was fascinated by the flapper fashion in the Great Gatsby film. For those ladies who love to sew vintage, go on and make a great cape!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Cape/Poncho and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.