Batwing Breton Top – McCalls M6792

IMG-20140310-00724

I was drawn to the boatneck and batwing sleeves of this pattern and that its designed for knit fabrics. There are two options of either a top or a dress. This pattern also has the option for colour blocking the Right Side Front of the garment which comes as a separate pattern piece (no.2.). I omitted this.

I used a medium weight interlock jersey knit which has a slight quilted feel to it. Making this top in a striped print made it much more time consuming as I had to match up the numerous stripes most carefully and the back has 2 pieces.  There are front/back neck facings. I had to take in extra fabric under the arms for a better fit though still retaining the batwing style.

To complement the Breton look of this top, I attached crochet lace to the neck, cuffs and hem. I think this is a lovely pattern for knit fabrics, and I will make it again in a plain fabric so its quick and easy.  I love making garments in knit fabrics as they are so comfortable to wear.

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Knits, Top and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.