Sleeveless Jacket and Tie Belt – Simplicity 2285

Happy New Year and Happy Sewing!

Gilet

I was looking for a sleeveless jacket pattern for some time, and the best one I came across was this Simplicity one. I made option C, using a medium weight wool fabric which I think looks smarter than the recommended faux fur. And I used a suit lining for the inside of the jacket. There is a collar attached. This is quite a straight forward pattern.

There is a tie belt pattern included and I used faux leather which is much softer and easier to sew than real leather. The belt is required to add some shape as the jacket is quite a boxy style.

I may make another sleeveless jacket in faux fur for the chilly winter months.

The other patterns included in Simplicity 2285 are a buttoned cape and two jackets with long sleeves.

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Jacket/Vest. Bookmark the permalink.