The Magic Pattern Book by Amy Barickman

Magic-large

I received The Magic Pattern Book (by Amy Barickman, founder of Indygo Junction) as a Christmas gift from my lovely friend, Susan (she knew that I wanted it). I am always very happy to receive sewing related gifts – family and friends, please take note!

The Magic Pattern book contains a CD with downloadable patterns for sizes S-XXL. There are 6 patterns to sew into 36 different styles. I really like the 6 fabric suggestions (colour illustrations) for each pattern. Its a very clever sewing book, most interesting and informative and I am finding it very hard to put it down.

The designs in this book are lovely and its difficult to know where to start as there is so much choice. Though after some consideration, I have chosen The Diana Cardigan and The Abigail Dress.

The book only contains the Finished Garment measurements, it does not recommend what size to sew for your actual body measurements. If you are unsure, its best to go up a pattern size before cutting your precious fabric as you can always take in the garment later if required. Regarding sizing issues, more caution is needed with a woven fabric than with a stretch knit fabric. Remember ladies, measure twice and cut once!

Before printing the whole of the PDF Pattern from the CD, you will need to first locate the test sheet (labelled “TEST SQUARE”) and print that page first. Measure the 4″ x 4″ square to make sure that it has printed at 100 percent.

This book is a great addition to my sewing book library.

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Sewing Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.