The Diana Cardigan – The Magic Pattern Book

DianaCardi1

As I like to make and wear garments from knit fabrics, I chose to make The Diana Cardigan from The Magic Pattern Book by Amy Barickman. It has a pretty curved ‘tulip’ shape at the bottom hem, with the front pieces being shorter than the back. Its not easy to find a good knit cardigan sewing pattern which has a modern shape. I hate a frumpy cardi!

I used a lightweight knit fabric. The book also recommends using woven fabrics for this pattern so you can create a different look. The book does instruct to measure 3/8″ beyond the neck edge only on the back piece before cutting.

There is the option of making the sleeves narrow, which I did not do and the sleeves need to be slightly gathered and set-in. As I did not have Steam-A-Seam Lite (whatever that is) as suggested in the book, I used my steam iron to press just over 1″ to form a double hem all the way around and then I used a twin needle to stitch it.

The book only contains the Finished Garment measurements, it does not recommend what size to sew for your actual body measurements.

This was my first ever PDF pattern. Though it does involve more work than a normal pattern, as you need to print off all the pages, tape them together correctly  and then cut it out, its worth it if you really like the pattern and know that you will enjoy making the garment and wearing it. This was the case with The Diana. I love knits and a cardigan is such a practical and essential garment. I can envisage making another one as its one of my favourite patterns.

I have my eye on a few other patterns in the book including The Abigail dress. So many patterns, so little time, such a dilemma!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Cardigan/Shrug, Knits. Bookmark the permalink.