Culottes – Burda Style 6980

IMG-20150204-01445What is it about culottes? Also known as a split/divided skirt or pantskirt. Part skirt and part trouser, its a garment genius!

It was a challenge to track down a suitable culottes pattern that looked stylish and not dated, and this Burda Style pattern fitted the bill perfectly. Its a flattering style and fit.

IMG-20150204-01447

As I wanted the culottes to look smart, I chose a light weight wool suit fabric with a lovely drape to complement the shape of this pattern.

There are waist darts at the back and I shortened their length for a more comfortable fit. I like the fact that the invisible zip is at the back, it looks much neater. I did the invisible hem stitch by hand for a finer finish and the hem sits just about the knee.

IMG-20150204-01441

Culottes are a great alternative garment for women who are active/sporty and would prefer to wear a skirt but would find it impractical to do so, for example, in riding a bicycle. Using a casual fabric such as cotton would be most suitable for this purpose.

This pattern is such a hit with me that I will be making more culottes. I would like to make a version in a light and floaty fabric, possibly crepe, that’s a delight to wear during the warm summer months.

Are you crazy for culottes?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Culottes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.