Winter Cape – Simplicity 1775

CapeCoatF

As a friend of mine works for Burberry, I decided to look at their website to see their range of coats. Lo and behold – dreamy Capes galore! Though Burberry’s Capes are beautiful, their prices are simply eye-watering. It was a huge relief knowing that I could make a Cape and save a fortune!

I chose Simplicity 1775 as its a more suitable and substantial pattern for a winter Cape. I like the fact that the Cape crosses over at the front, so its warmer to wear. I used a heavy weight wool and lined it in a chocolate brown satin.

I liked the fact that this design incorporates a tie-belt, which slots through two openings in the back and the front, creating a Batwing effect. I used zig-zag stitching, cut slits for the belt openings and attached black bias binding to prevent fraying of the edges. I made a small closure from fabric and a small buckle and attached it to the front of the neck.  There are two big vintage bronze buttons attaching the front to the back, creating large sleeves for the arms and preventing the Cape from gaping open at the sides.

CapeCoatB

I made the tie-belt and also two belt loops at the back to accommodate the belt. It took a long time to sew this Cape as there is so much thick fabric, although it was not a difficult pattern. As I decided to lower the four belt openings, I took my time in measuring and aligning them as I wanted the belt to sit level. This is a generous size pattern, I made a Small but still had to take in the Cape at the seams.

I really like this Cape and it is one of my favourite garments to wear, it is quite a statement piece. I have received many lovely compliments when wearing it and it makes me feel good. It has the chic look of Burberry but at a fraction of the cost!

Do you love a Cape?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Cape/Poncho and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.