Batwing Jersey Top – K/Sew 3891

Batwing Top

Here is another Batwing to add to my collection. As you can tell, I am a fan of the Batwing, also having made a Batwing Breton Top, and Winter (Batwing) Cape. I should be known as Batgirl!

This pull-over top has a wide scoop neckline, self fabric neckband and is made in a stretch knit jersey (this sewing pattern is designed for stretch knits only with 35% stretch across the grain). I really like the deep two-tone colour and print of this fabric. Though this pattern was easy and ideal for beginners, the fabric was more of a challenge as it was very stretchy.

There is the option of a V-neckline and elastic casing at the waist.  I omitted the casing and substituted a belt (not included in the pattern) to define the waist.

As there are 4 panels to this top, they could be made in contrasting colours. The sizing of this pattern is generous so I made a Small and shortened the length.

Are you a fan of the Batwing?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Knits, Top and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.