Preppy Wool Skirt – Love Sewing Magazine (Issue 09)

IMG-20150313-01510

I don’t know about you, but I am a fan of the new Love Sewing Magazine!

I came across this lovely skirt sewing pattern in the magazine (Issue 09)/January 2015, ‘Preppy Tartan Skirt’. I like the Preppy style in fashion: simple, classic and modest cut. For the fabric, I chose a tiny dogtooth print (instead of tartan) in blue wool. This skirt is knee length and sits on the hips which I prefer (rather than on the waist) as this style suits me and it feels more comfortable to wear.

The lower skirt panels are cut on the diagonal grain of the fabric.  As the top panel of the skirt was gaping at the back, I made two darts to take it in for a better fit (note: there are no darts marked on the sewing pattern).  I hand stitched the panel facing on the inside of the skirt and I used a twin needle to machine stitch the hem.  There is an invisible side zip for which I used a standard zip foot. There is the option of making two small front flap pockets.

Because the skirt panels are cut on the diagonal, it drapes well even though the skirt is made of wool. It is not easy to find a good sewing pattern for a skirt that sits on the hips so I will probably make this one again. A hipster girl, that’s me!

Are you enjoying Love Sewing Magazine?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Skirt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preppy Wool Skirt – Love Sewing Magazine (Issue 09)

  1. Beth says:

    I love how it drapes. It’s the first skirt of this pattern I’ve seen that’s not made of tartan!

    Like

Comments are closed.