Blouson Dress – New Look Workroom 6185

IMG-20150318-01533

I like the New Look Workroom (from Project Runway) sewing patterns, and this is one of them. The beauty of this blouson style dress pattern is that it is designed for both woven and knit fabrics. As I cannot get enough of knit fabrics, the decision was an easy one!

I made this pullover dress out of a light weight double knit jersey fabric with a polka dot print. There is a round neckline band to which the bodice and raglan sleeves are attached. There are some gathers at the top centre front of the bodice and the top centre of the shoulder sleeves. The sleeves are blouson (very much like The Mathilde blouse). The ends of the sleeves are gathered and there are cuffs.

I lengthened the dress slightly and omitted the in-seam pockets. There is the option of a V-neckline band and short sleeves.

This blouson dress has a lot of ease and is quite shapeless, I thought it looked a bit like a nightie! Therefore, I wrapped a lace scarf around the waist to define it (and to emphasise the gathers), this is so Daniela Gregis (Milan Fashion Designer – see my Pinterest Board of her interesting designs). Defining the waist made the dress much more wearable. I will wear this dress with a belt as I want the ‘blouson’ look and not the ‘nightie’ look!

The jersey fabric gives the gathers a softer look and a lovely drape which is key for this style of dress. If you like lots of gathers, then this sewing pattern is for you.

Is the blouson look for you?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Dress, Knits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.