Fashion with Fabric Book by Claire-Louise Hardie

IMG-20150407-01554As I really enjoyed the most recent series of The Great British Sewing Bee, I had to buy the book Fashion With Fabric by Claire-Louise Hardie (The Thrifty Stitcher), a sewing Producer of TGBSB – you can see more of the projects in her blog. This amazing book includes all the full-size paper patterns to make 30 projects (all garments) and includes some of the patterns used in the show. As the pattern pieces (colour coded) are overlaid across one another, you will need to trace off the pieces you want to use.

The book is arranged according to fabrics – Cottons, Wool and other animal fibres (including Leather), Stretch and Luxury (including Lace and Chiffon) fabrics. The finished garment measurements are included which is most useful.

I have just finished The Slouchy Cardigan and this will be my next post.

The other pattern that I have my eye on is the Drapey Knit Dress – this is a Japanese inspired design and is fabulous (it comprises a front pleat detail, kimono sleeves and hidden pockets). The book recommends using a double-knit jersey such as Ponte Roma. I will make some other garments for the summer before I make this knit dress.

I also like the casual trousers and tweed A-line skirt. Oh dear, my sewing to-do list is growing longer each day!

Have you made any projects from the Fashion with Fabric Book or do you plan to?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Sewing Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fashion with Fabric Book by Claire-Louise Hardie

  1. susan says:

    I am just tracing out the drapey knit dress pattern! I’m going to attempt to make a lighter version for spring in a jersey fabric so not sure if it will work out! The slouchy cardigan is next on my list So I can’t wait to see yours!

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      I hope that your dress turns out well and I cant wait to see it too. I bought the fabric for my dress already (I went on a recent fabric shopping spree), and as its a double-knit jersey, it can wait for the Autumn. I need to make some summer clothes first!

      Like

Comments are closed.