Slouchy Cardigan – Fashion with Fabric Book

IMG-20150408-01571I could not resist the winning combination of knit fabric, cardigan and kimono in The Slouchy Cardigan from the Fashion With Fabric Book by Claire-Louise Hardie (The Thrifty Stitcher), a sewing Producer of The Great British Sewing Bee – please see my last post for this Book (dated 7 April 2015).

IMG-20150408-01587

This cardigan, a Japanese inspired ‘kimono’ design, is comfy yet stylish. I used a lightweight and stretch jersey knit (the book recommends only using a fabric that has a lengthwise stretch) in a striking print. I really like the two shoulder pleats on each side (I used carbon paper to mark the pleat lines onto the fabric). I pressed 3/4″ to form a double hem all the way around and used a ballpoint (stretch) twin needle to stitch it.

It is such a simple and quick sewing pattern as it only consists of 3 pieces. I cut a Medium size and it has a relaxed fit which I like. This pattern can also be adapted to make a kimono jacket in a woven fabric with an additional front band which can be made in a contrasting fabric.

I will definitely make another Slouchy Cardigan (and other Japanese style garments), though I think it should be called a Kimono Cardigan – this style of Cardi is so cool!

What do you think about Japanese style?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Cardigan/Shrug, Japanese, Knits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slouchy Cardigan – Fashion with Fabric Book

  1. Melissa says:

    Caroline, thanks so much for stopping by my blog today and leaving me a comment! My blog is relatively new and I haven’t really made any connections yet with other sewists.

    I like your cardigan. I think I will have to break down and buy that book from Amazon.uk. We don’t get the Great Sewing Bee in Canada (very sad) so I can’t get those books from Amazon.ca.

    I really like the Japanese style even if they are sized for bodies way smaller than mine. I do like the simple styles & clean lines.

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Hi Melissa, I appreciate your comment. As you like the Cardigan, you will love the Japanese style Drapey Knit Dress in the same book. Although this dress can be downloaded free from the online Love Sewing Magazine (Issue 12, April 2015) and the construction details are in the magazine. Anyway, I hope you will be able to buy the book, I think it is worth it just for these two patterns. I also like the simplicity of the Japanese style. I wish you well with your lovely blog.

      Like

  2. Caroline says:

    Glad you like the Cardi, its such a lovely design, thanks to Claire. And it uses a lightweight jersey which is great for the summer. I think it is wise to make the dress in a ponte knit – it will look better using a more stable knit and it will be easier to sew too. Enjoy making the Cardi!

    Like

  3. susan says:

    I love it!! I can’t wait to get going on one! After traceing all the pattern pieces out for the knit dress I decided to wait for autumn and use pointe like the instructions suggest! I am now making a summer dress instead – slouchy/kimono cardi is definitely next on the list after seeing yours!!

    Like

Comments are closed.