Tokyo Tie-Bag – Sew Everything Workshop Book

tokyo tiebag

Here is my Tokyo Tie-Bag – all of my April projects have been dedicated to Japanese style.

This Bag is from the book Sew Everything Workshop by Diana Rupp. I will write a separate review about this book at a later date.

There is no sewing pattern included for this bag. There are only instructions, a diagram and measurements. The book’s measurements make a tiny bag so I increased them to make a bigger bag and drew my own paper pattern. There are 2 bag pieces (outer fabric) which are cut on the fold. I used two cotton fat quarters in an interesting purple print, sew-on interfacing for some stability and lined the bag. Though if you use a thicker outer fabric, you do not need interfacing.

IMG-20150421-01604

If you click on the paper pattern image, you will see my own measurements. I have divided the bag into sections: Top, Middle and Body – the measurements differ according to each section. The width of the bag’s Body is 7″, the width at the middle is 3″, the width at the Top is 1 1/4″ and the length of the bag from Top to Bottom is 20″. I would add an extra 1″ to the length as the French seam at the bottom requires extra fabric. I hope this helps. The book has the full bag construction details.

As I used two fat quarters, I did not have enough fabric to make long ends to tie at the top. Therefore, I sewed the two top ends together with a crochet flower. I attached a snap fastener to the inside of the bag.

It is an easy (though do take care with the curves) and enjoyable bag to make, it just took me a bit of time to decide on the new measurements and to draw the pattern. I think it makes a lovely and unique gift for a friend.

If I make this bag again, I will ensure that I have more fabric to make the handles long enough to tie. I really do enjoy making bags and they take less time to make than a garment which is great if you do not have a lot of time.

Are you a bag-making lady?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Bag, Japanese. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tokyo Tie-Bag – Sew Everything Workshop Book

  1. Susan says:

    PS: I am not the same Susan as your previous comment contributor with this fab name : )

    Like

  2. Susan says:

    It looks lovely. I always like a bag with long handles as it tucks easily under the shoulders. Especially for keeping valuables close and not having to fish for them inside larger bags.

    Like

  3. susan says:

    I love so many of the Japanese styles – this bag really does look different and interesting, what colour lining did you use? I have only wver made the simplest of tote bags before – yours looks fun but I’m not sure I could do it without a pattern!

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Yes, this bag is a lovely and unique design, thanks to Diana. It would have been much easier and quicker if a sewing pattern had been included, though as the fabric is cut on the fold and with 2 pieces, you only need to draw 1/4 of the bag pattern. I will try to photograph and include my paper pattern in my post later today. The most difficult part to draw was the curve as I wanted accuracy. I lined the bag with a plain purple fabric. S.E.W. is a useful book which includes 10 paper patterns and I have made two garments from it which I will post at a later date.

      Like

Comments are closed.