Summer Linen Jacket – K/S 3584

LinenJkt

I have been looking forward to making something to wear for the summer. As you must be aware by now, I am a knits fabric addict, so it was a nice change for me to make a woven fabric garment. This lightweight jacket is made in a mint green linen and is perfect for the summer.

IMG-20150523-01787

Linen is such a wonderful summer fabric. I  know it is prone to creasing but I think that is part of its appeal – it looks so easy and casual.

I really like the design of this sewing pattern, especially the round neckline, yoke and the gathers at the front and back. The yoke has a satin lining. The sleeves are set-in, there are elbow pleats and two buttonholes with mother of pearl buttons at the top front. I lengthened the hem and the sleeves to make it look less boxy (the sewing pattern is short).

IMG-20150523-01796

This lovely jacket is ideal to dress up a casual summer outfit and to wear when it is not quite warm enough to go out without a jacket.

I will be sewing more woven fabric garments so watch this space!

What is your perfect fabric for the summer?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Jacket/Vest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Linen Jacket – K/S 3584

  1. daisy jones says:

    Caroline it is adorable, love the colour, the fabric and the adjustments you have made….thank you so much for letting me know about it!
    bestest wishes
    Daisy j
    Ps what is next on your list?

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Thanks Daisy for your kind words. Glad you like my jacket as much as I like your lovely jacket. The next project on my list is a ‘Cath Kidston’ (I am a fan of hers) style bag.

      Like

  2. Caroline says:

    Thanks Melissa. With linen, just make sure that it is not too thick or stiff and it will be lovely to sew and to wear. I found that it frayed quite a bit, so the quicker you finish the seams, the better (if you do not have an overlocker). I hope that you have a lovely linen experience!

    Like

  3. Melissa says:

    Very nice, Caroline, and perfect for summer! I have not sewn with linen yet but hope to soon! Is there anything special I need to know about working with linen?

    I will look forward to seeing your upcoming woven projects!

    Like

Comments are closed.