Shift Dress – Skirts & Dresses Book by Christine Haynes

IMG-20150606-01839

I bought the book Skirts & Dresses for First Time Sewers by Christine Haynes for the Shift Dress sewing pattern. I saw this dress on Christine’s blog and loved the simple and classic design of the slightly A-line dress, round neckline, blouson sleeves with gathered cuffs and curved hem.

The fit of this dress is quite loose and flowy which makes it cool and airy for the summer. This was the easiest and quickest dress that I have ever made! There are no darts, zips or buttonholes. You could easily make several of these dresses in different fabrics. I made mine in a viscose/rayon with french seams for a neater finish. I lengthened the dress to just above the knee as the sewing pattern is very short.

IMG-20150606-01858

Christine says “This dress is a very simple front and back with gathered cuffs and an easy dress to toss on and look and feel pulled together”. I agree.

IMG-20150606-01855

There is some very good news for beginners and for busy sewing bees – there are no set-in sleeves! The dress and sleeves are all in one and you only need to slightly gather the end of the sleeves and attach the cuffs. So quick and easy!

This project-based book is full of classic shapes for beginner-level sewers though experienced sewers can make them up too.

There are 15 projects in the book, all with downloadable PDF patterns that you access via a website link or QR Code printed on the project’s page. I found the Shift Dress pattern easy to find, download and assemble.

Other designs in this book include the Wrap Dress & Skirt, Sheath Dress, Tunic Dress, Sundress, Baby doll Dress, A-line Skirt, Circle Skirt, Pencil Skirt and Pleated Skirt.

I will wear this Shift Dress on my summer holiday to Italy. Are you sewing for your summer holiday?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Dress, Sewing Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shift Dress – Skirts & Dresses Book by Christine Haynes

  1. Melissa says:

    Oh what a cute dress, and with polka dots! It sounds very swingy and cool and perfect for that holiday in Italy! Whereabouts are you going to?

    (No exotic holiday for me, I’m afraid.)

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Thanks Melissa. I will be going to Lake Garda. I love to hike and being surrounded by beautiful scenery – anywhere with lakes and mountains is my perfect holiday destination. Although, I will wear my new dress out in the town and not out hiking!

      Like

Comments are closed.