Shift Dress (in Jersey Knit) by Christine Haynes

IMG-20150615-01863

It is another Shift Dress from the book Skirts & Dresses for First Time Sewers by Christine Haynes, made this time in a lightweight jersey knit fabric. Although this sewing pattern is designed for woven fabrics, I just could not resist making this dress in a knit fabric – I confess that I am a knits addict and proud of it!

I love the drape and feel of wearing a good jersey knit. It is so easy and comfortable to wear which is good for me as I am an active person and need to move around.

IMG-20150615-01870

My favourite design feature of this dress is the gathered cuff, it finishes off the dress beautifully.

For more details about this Shift Dress sewing pattern, please see Shift Dress.

I will be taking this Shift Dress on holiday with me and I look forward to wearing it.

Do you prefer this Shift Dress in the woven or knit fabric? I would love to hear from you!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Dress, Knits. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shift Dress (in Jersey Knit) by Christine Haynes

  1. Melissa says:

    Another lovely dress for your holidays! I am envious! Which version do I prefer? I think the polka dotted one not so much that it’s woven but I like the fabric – dots! The knit one has a lovely drape though!

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Thanks Melissa. Yes, the drape on knits is lovely and it is easier to fit than a woven fabric garment especially as I have a narrow back.

      Like

Comments are closed.