Lavender Heart – SEW! Book by Cath Kidston

Heart(I)

Here is a lavender heart that I made from Cath Kidston’s book SEW! I have made many of these hearts as gifts for family and friends and everyone loves them.

Cath Kidston Sew! Book
I copied the heart template from the book, placed it onto some fabric, cut it out and sewed right sides together, leaving a small gap to turn it through. The heart is filled with toy stuffing and dried French lavender for a lovely fragrance. Alternatively, you could fill it with lavender only and place it in your wardrobe, but I like the fullness of using toy stuffing and I hang the heart as a decoration.

I attached some lace around the edge for a pretty decorative effect, and also a tiny flower from my wedding cake! I finished it with a satin ribbon at the top, from which to hang the heart.

This is such a quick, simple and enjoyable make. If you are new to sewing, then this is a great place to start!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.