Tank Dress by Diana Rupp (S.E.W)

IMG-20150718-01942This tank dress is a modification of the Flouncy Tank Top from Sew Everything Workshop book) by Diana Rupp. This is such a simple and cool sundress, although you do need to draw your own sewing pattern based on the book’s instructions but it is so easy as you only need to use a ruler and draw rectangles!

The sewing pattern consists of 1 rectangle for the front, 2 for the back, 2 top bands and 2 straps.  

I used a tiny floral print cotton fabric although the book also recommends using cotton sateen, gingham, pique, poplin, voile, linen or silk.

I basted along the top edge of the tank and pulled the ends to gather the fabric and attached the bands to it. There is an 8″ long opening at the back to which I attached 2 fasteners to the band.

To avoid the ‘nightie’ look of a gathered dress, I made a belt (with interfacing) and a round buckle to add shape to the waist. Much better!

I would have preferred a slightly flared skirt instead of a straight skirt, but then I drew and modified the instructions for the top so I can blame myself for this oversight!

Did you modify a top sewing pattern to a dress? Were you pleased with the result?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Dress and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tank Dress by Diana Rupp (S.E.W)

  1. Melissa says:

    Nice touch with the belt! It really elevates the style of the dress to be more dressy. I have made the Scout tee into a dress and loved the result.

    I trust you had a nice holiday in Italy?

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Thanks Melissa. I will look at your Scout dress. My holiday to Italy was lovely, though too hot! I had lots of boat trips on the lake and a coach trip up to the Dolomite mountains as well as Verona. I recommend the Lake Garda region as it is so beautiful.

      Like

Comments are closed.