Breezy Easy Wrap Skirt – Diana Rupp (S.E.W)

Polkadot Tie Wrap Skirt

A wrap skirt is a wardrobe essential and here is my second one –  see my Burda Style Wrapover Tartan Skirt for my first. This is a retro style wrap skirt in a cotton polka dot print fabric with a bow tied waistband – my husband says that it makes me look very 1950s!

This sewing pattern is from the lovely book Sew Everything Workshop by Diana Rupp. This book is great value as it contains 10 sewing patterns including Cape Mod, Secretary Skirt, Tunic, Yoga Pants, Girly Go-To Dress and Knockout Knickers (to a British person this sounds naughty, but this is in fact trousers and not underwear!).

There are also instructions for a Flouncy Tank Top, Tokyo Tie-Bag,  Cuddle-up Cardigan, Nightie, Tote Bag, Hobo Bag, Apron and soft home furnishings.

Going back to the wrap skirt, it consists of 3 main pieces plus the front and back waistband/ties. It was easy to make and I cut a small size. There are darts in the back and 2 buttonholes in the waistband.

The only issue I had was that I did not like the way the waistband tied, so I cut off 21″ from the end of the waistband tie, and repositioned it on the other side so it tied normally – if you make this skirt, you will see what I mean.

This skirt is knee-length and has a flattering A-line shape and you can embellish it, says Diana, with patch pockets, applique or rickrack.

Go and wrap yourself up!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Sewing Books, Skirt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breezy Easy Wrap Skirt – Diana Rupp (S.E.W)

  1. Melissa says:

    I don’t have a wrap skirt but have thought about making one. Yours look very nice! I bet another one will be coming off the sewing machine soon, right? 😉

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      You will love a wrap skirt, and its so easy breezy! I am making 2 trousers in chambray and linen. And I plan to make a Japanese apron dress – watch this space!

      Like

  2. Susan says:

    I like having a few of this type of.skirt on holiday to cover up from getting too much sun on my legs as I burn easily.

    Like

Comments are closed.