Apron Dress (in linen) – Stylish Dress Book

IMG-20150901-02004

I have made the Apron/Pinafore/Jumper Dress (whatever you want to call it) at last! I was inspired to make this dress by the lovely versions of Anna and Marilla.

IMG-20150901-02007

I have several Japanese dress books which I love to look at, however, I lack the motivation to trace the sewing pattern and to add the seam allowance. I really need to like a pattern to do this.

IMG-20150901-02024

This sewing pattern (G) was taken from the Japanese  ‘Stylish Dress Book – simple smocks, dresses and tops’ by Yoshiko Tsukiori. It was the Pinafore style of the dress and back strap design which got my attention – so utility chic! It is an easy and enjoyable dress to make.

IMG-20150901-02015

I really like Pinafore dresses, having made The Abigail Dress in corduroy. I find them appealing as they are so versatile, practical, easy to wear and great for layering.

IMG-20150901-01998

I used a denim look heavy weight linen fabric as I want to wear this dress for Autumn. For the twin needle topstitching, I used a plum colour thread which looks effective. There is a little back pocket.

IMG-20150901-02013

The only alteration I made to this dress was to shorten it slightly. The skirt is more flared than I am used to wearing but it is good for me to try something different!

I am thinking about making another Apron Dress, perhaps in a corduroy. I also have my eye on the Box Dress in the same book. It is just a question of having the time to make them all!

What are your Autumn sewing plans?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Apron/Apron Dress, Japanese and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Apron Dress (in linen) – Stylish Dress Book

  1. Melissa says:

    That’s just perfect for Fall weather. I like the idea of an apron dress. I am looking forward to seeing what Marilla will create for her jumpsuit and core wardrobe patterns. I am tempting to make one for myself. First though, I have to get myself organized!

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      I am excited about the launch of Marilla’s new patterns (including a pinafore). It would be great if you could make the apron dress and I look forward to seeing it.

      Like

  2. SewingSu says:

    I love the look of this dress! it could be used for so many different looks depending on what you wore with it – Fab!

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    Really cute. I would imagine this could be worn in all weather’s just by varying the accompanying top.

    Like

Comments are closed.