Apron Dress (in corduroy) – Stylish Dress Book

IMG-20150922-02064

Here is another Apron Dress, made this time in a lovely soft and lightweight floral print corduroy (I could not resist making another one)! Also see my Apron Dress made in a denim look linen.

This sewing pattern (G) was taken from the Japanese  ‘Stylish Dress Book – simple smocks, dresses and tops’ by Yoshiko Tsukiori. I love the Pinafore style of the dress, especially the back strap design – so utility chic, and with the fabric’s floral print, so Granny chic too!

IMG-20150922-02083

I made and attached a pocket to the front of the dress this time, but you can barely see it due to the busy print of the fabric.

IMG-20150922-02081

I made this skirt less flared than my linen apron dress as it looks better in corduroy. I did the top stitching using a twin needle.

IMG-20150922-02069

The back strap really does it for me!

IMG-20150922-02080

Here is another pocket on the lower back of the dress.

This lightweight corduroy sews like a dream unlike the thick and heavyweight corduroy of my Abigail (pinafore) Dress. Its feels soft and comfortable to wear. I must get some more!

Corduroy is an ideal fabric for Autumn/Winter. Do you like corduroy?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Apron/Apron Dress, Japanese and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apron Dress (in corduroy) – Stylish Dress Book

  1. Caroline says:

    Thanks Linda. This lightweight corduroy is ideal for a dress. Although a heavyweight corduroy should be ok for a winter skirt. Hope you find the right fabric.

    Like

  2. Linda says:

    Love the dress, love the fabric! I am looking for some corduroy to make a winter skirt this year. I’d love some pretty fabric like this! I haven’t seen the apron dress before, it looks very comfortable.

    Like

Comments are closed.