Tartan Love

IMG-20150427-01642

To celebrate our wedding anniversary this year, the hubby and I went to Edinburgh for a long weekend. Edinburgh is a beautiful city but I was just as smitten with the tartan and the weekend became a tartan fest!

It was a joy for me to watch a piper play his bagpipes, dressed in his traditional Scottish kilt. To read how to make a men’s kilt, refer to the book Fashion With Fabric by Claire-Louise Hardie. This project was featured in the last series of The Great British Sewing Bee.

The Edinburgh Style

IMG-20151026-00113

I could not resist buying a couple of tartan wool scarves for myself and cannot wait for the weather to be cold enough to wear them. A useful little book I found in an Edinburgh gift shop is How to Tie a Scarf – 33 Styles.

The Glasgow Style

IMG-20151026-00120

I must make one of these cute Scottie dogs!

IMG-20150427-01647

We went to the Tartan Weaving Mill which is the only working mill in Edinburgh.

IMG-20150427-01641

IMG-20150427-01633

Many different names of tartan exist. I have made a wrapover skirt in the Blackwatch tartan.

IMG-20150427-01634

The World Peace Tartan was created to promote a global message of peace and illustrate’s humanity’s desire for a harmonious and sustainable future.

IMG-20150427-01639

Here is a tartan onesie! I did actually see a man entering a pub wearing this (no doubt he was drunk) and a big wig of curly red hair on his head!

IMG-20150427-01645

Ladies, take note of this sign outside a pub (ha, ha)!

IMG-20150425-01609

 

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Travel/Places and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tartan Love

  1. Jeanette says:

    Hi, I love tartan too, and those scarves are great…as is the man in a kilt, I do love a man in a kilt!

    Like

  2. Melissa says:

    Oh, I love the Husband Daycare Centre! That’s too funny, but oh so true though, eh? 😉

    Sounds like you had a lovely visit to Edinburgh! Thanks for sharing the photos and some tartan love!

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Tartan is a striking fabric and should be promoted. With so many different varieties, there is something for everyone. Maybe you will have some tartan love?

      Like

Comments are closed.