Box Dress (D) – Stylish Dress Book

IMG-20151115-00139

This is my third dress from the Japanese  ‘Stylish Dress Book – simple smocks, dresses and tops’ by Yoshiko Tsukiori. This dress (D) features on the book’s cover. I love the style of this dress, especially the boat neck and sleeves.

IMG-20151115-00143

I used a lightweight wool/cashmere blend of fabric which feels soft, silky and luxurious. It has a lovely drape too.

IMG-20151115-00160

This sewing pattern needs to be traced and the seam allowances added. My tip to save time and avoid adding seam allowances is to go up one size. I traced a size L to take into account the seam allowances even though I wear a size M. This works for me.

IMG-20151115-00138

I made the alteration of increasing the length by 2″ and attached a strip of velvet ribbon/crochet lace to the top of the front pockets. I understitched the neck facing to keep it in place. Understitching really does make a difference.

IMG-20151115-00133

This is a roomy dress and is great for layering in all seasons The neckline is high but it can be altered if required. It is easy and enjoyable to make. The sleeves are sewn on the flat rather than set-in and it is an ideal dress for beginners.

I will make another version next year using a printed fabric.

Do you love Stylish Dress Book?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Dress, Japanese and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Box Dress (D) – Stylish Dress Book

  1. Melissa says:

    I love Stylish Dress Books too. Your dress looks very nice and the fabric sounds very cozy! Looking forward to seeing your next (patterned) one.

    Currently I have dove into sewing with knits but hope to get back to wovens soon!

    Like

  2. Susan P says:

    I do like this. I bet it is lovely on. Even though the sleeves are good for beginners to make I think they look very stylish! Looking forward to seeing the patterned one too.

    Like

Comments are closed.