Corduroy Culottes – K/Sew 3433

IMG-20151207-00240

I have made my third pair of culottes! Only this time in a fine and soft corduroy (it sews like a dream) by the Designer, Paul Smith. I decided to be a bit daring and chose a mustard colour corduroy! My Burda Style culottes are made in wool and viscose/rayon 

IMG-20151207-00234

There are some lovely culottes on other sewing blogs and these are my favourites: Marilla Walker, Alex of SewrendipityJillian of Sew Unravelled and Yoshimi. You will notice their culottes are all blue – I need a blue pair next!IMG-20151207-00249

I chose this particular sewing pattern as it has an A-line silhouette, shaped waistband, fits slightly below the waist, is a longer length (View A) and is designed for medium weight fabrics. View B is a shorter length.

I like my culottes to lie flat and smooth at the front (without pleats) as this has more of a slimming effect at the top which I prefer with such a wide leg.

IMG-20151207-00263

As I don’t like side zips, I decided to omit this. I sewed the left seam up to the start of the waistband. Near the waistband seam, I placed a large bronze snap to fasten the left side. I am able to put on/take off my culottes easily without a zip. This works as the  waistband is 3.5″ deep and there are no darts.

IMG-20151207-00252

I cut a M size and used a 2.0 cm seam allowance in the leg. As I made View A, I decided to take up the hem by 2″ instead of 1″ as I thought the culottes looked too long on me – they are midi length. I did the blind hem stitch by hand. For the waistband facing, I did ‘stitch in the ditch’.

These corduroy culottes are great for this season and are so comfortable!

What do you think about culottes?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Culottes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Corduroy Culottes – K/Sew 3433

  1. Carolyn says:

    What lovely culottes! the colour is just divine. They sure look comfortable as well as stylish 🙂

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Thanks Carolyn. These are ‘comfy’ culottes but also look smart. My tip for corduroy is to buy the best that you can afford – it really does pay off.

      Like

  2. Zoe says:

    What an amazing colour! They look wonderful xxx

    Like

  3. This is such a yummy colour! A perfect pair of culottes I think 🙂

    Like

  4. Caroline says:

    Thanks Melissa. These are my favourite culottes to date. I would like to see your chambray culottes sometime!

    Like

  5. Melissa says:

    Hi Caroline. I like the colour you chose as it feels very autum-y. It looks wonderful and when you mention corduroy I think “comfy and cozy”. I had experimented on a pair in the summer with chambray. I am not sure how I feel about them yet though I have admired others wearing them!

    Like

Comments are closed.