Cupcake and Petal Pincushions

I hope you all had a Merry Christmas!

IMG-20151228-00290

After all the busyness of the Christmas festivities, I wanted to do a nice and simple craft project so I made a couple of cute pincushions.

IMG-20151228-00281For some lovely pincushion ideas (and other craft projects), look at Debbie Shore on Youtube. For the cake (top), I followed the Teacup pincushion tutorial by Debbie. Instead of the teacup base, I made a cylinder shape with cardboard for the cup (base) and used fabric glue. I finished the cupcake with a big pearl on top and some pretty ribbon.

IMG-20151229-00294

For the Petal pincushion, I followed this tutorial. I lined the top of the pincushion with wadding to make it firmer then filled it with toy stuffing. I used embroidery thread (double) to sew the petals and finished it with a button.

These are simple craft projects and make lovely gifts. Do you have an idea for a fun pincushion?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Craft and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cupcake and Petal Pincushions

  1. Carolyn says:

    these are very sweet 🙂

    Like

  2. Susan says:

    Like these. Great ides for spare fabrics that are just too lovely not to use but not enough for a bigger project.

    Like

  3. Caroline says:

    Thanks Melissa. My old pincushions were looking rather worn and I needed an upgrade!

    Like

  4. Melissa says:

    What a good idea! They are really cute too!

    Like

Comments are closed.