Owyn Pants – Lotta Jansdotter: Everyday Style Book

IMG-20160113-00349

Lotta Jansdotter’s book Everyday Style is so delightful and full of inspiration! I like the fact that Lotta and her friends model the clothes and accessories and you can read about them too which adds a nice touch.

There are 5 garment sewing patterns with different variations which need to be traced: Eme top/tunic/kaftan, Kiomi top/dress, Owyn pant/shorts, Pilvi jacket/coat and Tedra Skirt (short, medium, long).

There are also accessories  (including bags) to make.

IMG-20160113-00333

The Owyn pants took priority over the other projects in the book. These are simple tapered pants with a flat-fronted waist and side/back waist elastic. The length on the sewing pattern is short so I added a few inches to the pants.

IMG-20160113-00341

These pants are comfortable and with the elastic waist, they work well for activities and movement. These pants are suited to a mid-weight cotton or linen although I used a mid-weight wool/poly blend fabric in a tiny check print as it is Winter.

IMG-20160113-00343

I have mixed feelings about these pants. I really like the flat fronted waist, with the elastic in the sides/back and this is so comfortable. However, I am not sure about the tapered legs as I do not think this style suits me and my shape. Also the length is still too short despite the fact that I lengthened them. I am 5″5. A straight leg/boot cut style suits me and I like a longer length in the leg as this makes me look taller.

This style of pants would suit a cotton/linen fabric for the warmer months so much better. I am thinking about making these pants in linen for the summer.

I am looking forward to making the Esme top and tunic from the same book in the Spring. My next couple of garments will be winter warmers!

Have you made anything from Everyday Style?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Sewing Books, Trousers/Pants. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Owyn Pants – Lotta Jansdotter: Everyday Style Book

  1. Zoe says:

    Oooh, they look great! The elastic section at the back much make them super comfy. Bring on second helpings! xxx

    Like

  2. Melissa says:

    I missed this post earlier. I like the trousers but have not tried anything from this book yet. I am really slow getting back to my sewing machine! I love browsing through this book though.

    Like

  3. Carolyn says:

    I hadn’t heard of the book, but it looks really cute. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Like

  4. Oh these look nice. Good choice of fabric. I really need this book now!

    Like

  5. SewingSu says:

    I love this book too! and have made several versions of the Esme! I love your version of the Owyn trousers and I will be making some once the weather warms up!

    Like

Comments are closed.