Vintage Style Fleece Hats and Flapper Fleece Headbands

IMG-20160208-00417

I have been watching the sumptuous period drama, Mr Selfridge (the fourth season is set in the 1920s) and admit that I have become fixated with the Flapper Fashion and with ladies hats! It has given me the urge to make a couple of vintage style fleece hats and flapper fleece headbands for the winter.

IMG-20160208-00423

This is the hat tutorial. As a template for the top of the hat, I used a pan lid measuring  8.5″ wide. Instead of using fleece for the band and flower, I used some stretch lace and 3 circles of wool in different sizes with a zig zag stitch on the edges and a tiny rose (grey hat) and a small button (brown hat) in the centre of the flower.

IMG-20160208-00431

This is the flapper headband tutorial. For the dark green headband, I used wool for the flower as above and a small button in the centre of the flower. For the purple headband, there are small crochet flowers.

IMG-20160208-00439

To model the hats and headbands, I bought a polystyrene head from Amazon.

IMG-20160208-00436

These projects are enjoyable, make lovely gifts and are great winter warmers.

IMG-20160208-00445

Are you watching Mr Selfridge? There is a working sewing room and a seamstress named Tilly!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Hat/Headband and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vintage Style Fleece Hats and Flapper Fleece Headbands

  1. Melissa says:

    Wow, these are impressive. I can see you’ve been bitten by the hat making bug alright! Have fun!

    Like

  2. Really clever , Caroline

    Like

Comments are closed.