Sailor Top (No.2) – Marilla Walker

P1000811

My trip to Venice (the city of gondola fashion) has made me want to revisit the Sailor Top pattern by Marilla Walker. This top is a cool design and perfect for the summer. Here is Sailor Top No.1.

P1000796

This is a quick and easy top to make. I used a mid-weight stretch jersey knit fabric with a navy/grey nautical stripe. This time the seam is on the inside and  I attached the ribbon on the inside of the top to stabilise it.

P1000805

I love the shoulder gussets – these are a great design feature and really make the top unique! I used a stretch twin needle to stitch the hem and sleeve ends.

IMG-20160314-00527

Are you a fan of nautical/gondola fashion?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Knits, Top. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sailor Top (No.2) – Marilla Walker

  1. Melissa says:

    Very nice! I like this even better than the first one. I love stripes but have had a hard time finding the right fabric. There’s a local sale this Friday so I am hoping I will find some “just right” ones.

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Thanks Melissa. I prefer this one too. I know what you mean – it is not easy finding fabric with stripes. Good luck in your search!

      Like

  2. Looks very authentic Caroline
    Very smart indeed

    Like

Comments are closed.