New Look 6892 – Peasant Blouse

P1000852

Here is a peasant style blouse which is ideal for the summer, New Look 6892. There are 5 versions of this blouse pattern to choose from. I made View B with French seams and used a pretty floral cotton fabric. I cut a size 12 and lengthened the blouse by 1″.

This blouse has a Japanese look and is similar to smock blouse B (with garibaldi sleeves) in Stylish Dress Book by Yoshiko Tsukiori. Although this blouse has some shaping in the waist which avoids the ‘smock’ look.

P1000826

The neckline on the pattern is quite deep so I adjusted this. To create the gathered look of the front/back neckline, I made a bias binding casing and inserted elastic. The gathers create a feminine look.

P1000822

The raglan sleeves are elbow length. I omitted the flounces at the sleeve ends (for View B) and did the same as the neckline to create blouson sleeves.

The small floral print of the fabric gives the blouse more of a Japanese look.

A pretty, feminine and comfortable blouse to wear in the summer!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Top and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Look 6892 – Peasant Blouse

  1. Melissa says:

    A lovely summery blouse. I have been thinking of making something like this. Must look up this pattern. I made something similar once from a Japanese book but the fit was terible. The back kept riding up. It was very strange. Enjoy making more! 😉

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Thanks Melissa. I found this pattern easy to make/fit and it was enjoyable. I only raised the front/back neckline as an adjustment.

      Like

  2. It does have that Japanese aesthetic; I love it. Nice and floaty for the hot weather.

    Like

  3. Very pretty indeed Caroline. Simple but very attractive

    Like

Comments are closed.