Summer Tunic/Dress – Love Sewing Magazine

P1000880

For this dress, I modified the Summer tunic pattern by Sewgirl for Love Sewing magazine (issue 3). Based on the gorgeous designs in Japanese pattern books, this version is a simple design and made to fit and flatter every shape.

To give this dress a smarter and more dressy appearance, I omitted the lower sleeves and attached lace with a pretty scalloped edge. The keyhole at the neck and pockets were also omitted.

P1000884

I used a floral print mid-weight viscose/rayon which has a lovely drape. As this pattern’s sizing is rather generous, I made a Small and took in the sides.

I will probably make this pattern again but as an actual tunic with pockets. I cannot resist the Japanese aesthetic as it is so appealing to me.

Is there a style/design that you cannot resist and turn to time and time again?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Dress and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer Tunic/Dress – Love Sewing Magazine

  1. Melissa says:

    Very nice! I like that floral fabric. There are so many wonderful UK sewing publications. I wish I could get them here!

    Like

  2. Very striking indeed

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.