Monochrome Shift Dress – Christine Haynes

P1000112

I have revisited the Shift Dress sewing pattern in the book Skirts & Dresses for First Time Sewers by Christine Haynes.  This time I made it in a magnificent monochrome black/white circle print viscose/rayon with French seams. Very 1960s, don’t you think? And it also colour co-ordinates with my tuxedo cat, Carla!

P1000130

I adopted Carla in October 2015 and we are now very good friends. Carla is great company and sometimes sits next to me on the window sill when I am sewing!

P1000118

Going back to the dress. It has a slightly A-line silhouette with a round neckline, blouson sleeves and gathered cuffs. I lengthened the dress to just above the knee as it is short.P1000110

This was the easiest and quickest dress that I have ever made! There are no darts, zips or buttonholes. Christine says “This dress is a very simple front and back with gathered cuffs and an easy dress to toss on and look and feel pulled together”. I agree.

Image result for colour coordinated cat choupette

The ultimate colour co-ordinating cat has to be Choupette who belongs to the fashion designer, Karl Lagerfeld. Choupette is a super model moggie with earnings to match. Purrfect!
About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Dress and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monochrome Shift Dress – Christine Haynes

  1. Janice says:

    This looks really cute! I just discovered your blog — I love sewing with Japanese patterns too! There aren’t a lot of sewing blogs out there that sew with Japanese patterns.

    Like

  2. Susan says:

    Lovely dress. Amazing how great black and white can be appear so simple on the hanger but look so great when worn. Of course Carla is proof positive: )

    Like

  3. Melissa says:

    PS – glad to see Carla settling in so nicely!

    Like

  4. Melissa says:

    I love polka dots! That’s a very nice shift dress. Have you thought about trying the Lottie dress?

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Thanks Melissa. I am thinking about making the Lottie dress – I like Christine’s designs. I need to make the Esme dress and Mercury trousers first though!

      Like

Comments are closed.