Floral Eco Shopper – The Liberty Book of Home Sewing

P1000178

I have received The Liberty Book of Home Sewing from my in-laws as a gift and was delighted (as I am with all sewing related gifts)!  I have made several of these Eco Shopper bags as gifts for family and friends, but the one featured here is mine. It is floral, summery and vintage inspired. The book recommends Liberty Tana Lawn in ‘Kayoko’, a lightweight cotton fabric in a small-scale print. The fabric I chose resembles a Cath Kidston print.

P1000183You can keep this eco-conscious cloth shopper with you at all times as it is a fold-away version made from a lightweight cotton and can be slipped into a tiny bag holder.

I had to draw my own bag sewing pattern by following the directions, measurements and diagram in the book. The bag is made from 2 pieces of main fabric and 2 pieces of lining fabric. I have lined the bag rather than just make a facing as it is more sturdy and it can be reversible.  I find this bag most useful and it is much nicer to use (and greener) than a plastic carrier bag when shopping. It is pretty and feminine.

The book is beautiful and fully of vintage style projects all made in Liberty print fabrics. They include a cook’s apron, frilly pinny, kimono, keepsake board, doorstop, beanbag, Tote bag, book covers, gadget case, drawstring bag, cushions, roman blind, curtain, lampshade, throw, cot quilt and contemporary brick quilt.

There are no sewing patterns included, only diagrams, measurements and directions to make your own sewing patterns. The book is full of inspiration and dreamy.

P1000186

I have also made a Lavender Heart in matching fabric!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Bag, Sewing Books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Floral Eco Shopper – The Liberty Book of Home Sewing

  1. These all look like useful and usable items to make, and as you say use up remnants of fabric

    Like

  2. Caroline says:

    Thanks Janice. I have also made a plain blue Eco Shopper with remnant fabric from my Japanese apron dress. A contrasting lining fabric can make this bag reversible.

    Like

  3. Janice says:

    it looks really cute!

    Like

Comments are closed.