Box Dress (D) no.2 – Stylish Dress Book

p1000268

I have fulfilled my desire of making another boat neck Box Dress (D) in a printed fabric and I am delighted with it! This sewing pattern is from the Japanese  ‘Stylish Dress Book – simple smocks, dresses and tops’ by Yoshiko Tsukiori and the dress (D) features on the book’s cover.

p1000281

I had been attracted to the multi colour striking print of the fabric. It looks rather leafy which is appropriate for the Autumn. Its a heavyweight cotton with a little stretch and it holds the shape of the dress well, giving  a rather structured appearance and enhancing the A-line silhouette.

p1000279

The sizing of this sewing pattern is most generous and I traced a size M (not adding seam allowances). I made the alteration of increasing the length as I prefer it longer.

I think the fabric really makes the dress and it is my favourite garment so far! Do you have a favourite garment that you have made?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Dress, Japanese and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Box Dress (D) no.2 – Stylish Dress Book

  1. Janice says:

    this looks awesome! I love the print that you chose.

    Like

  2. ible says:

    Lovely dress. Hope the sunny September lasts longer so it gets lots of outings and admiring looks 🙂

    Like

  3. ible says:

    Classic yet contemporary. Book looks good too 🙂

    Like

  4. One of my favourite patterns . Love your colourful version so striking.

    Like

  5. Melissa says:

    You’ve paired the fabric and pattern really well. It’s lovely and such a nice splash of colour for those darker autumn days to come!

    Like

  6. Looks very authentic indeed

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.