Cross-Back Apron in denim – Sewing Happiness

p1000290

I have indulged in yet another Japanese project! This time its a Cross-Back Apron from Sewing Happiness book by Sanae Ishida.

This lovely and simple book is half memoir and half craft, it tells Sanae’s story of using sewing as therapy after a period of stress and chronic illness. It is divided into seasons and the projects include: Origami Pillow, Triangle Eco Bag, Book Cover, Camera Strap, Infinity Scarf, Everything Bucket, Heating Pad, Zip Pouch and Dopp Kit.

p1000291

There are no sewing patterns, only simple hand drawn illustrations. For the apron, I followed the instructions in the book and made a Size M according to the measurements. This apron is made entirely out of rectangles. No closures, no ties, just slip it over your head, easy-peasy. I used a contrast bias-binding at the top of the apron. There is a double pocket on the front.

p1000292

I have used a mid-weight denim from my stash. As it feels too thick to wear in the kitchen as an apron, standing over a hot hob and cooking, I think that I will be daring and wear it out as a casual dress. In denim, I should be able to get away with it, don’t you think? Would you wear it out? Though, I may hear someone say “You forgot to take your apron off!” I will reply “This is utility chic!” I will give it a try and see what happens.

p1000293

I hope to make another apron but in a light-weight cotton or linen so that I can actually wear it as a kitchen apron!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Apron/Apron Dress, Sewing Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cross-Back Apron in denim – Sewing Happiness

  1. Looks very smart to me. Wear it when you go out!

    Like

  2. I’ve not seen this book before, sounds like one to add to the Christmas list! Great dress, yes be brave and wear it. Perfect for Autumn days layered as you show here.

    Like

Comments are closed.