Popover Poncho – April Rhodes

p1000419

The Popover Poncho sewing pattern by April Rhodes is a sporty update on the bohemian staple. A clear instruction booklet with colour photographs is included.

This poncho looks more like a cape than the traditional poncho and that is why I like it so much. Thanks April for this fabulous design. Its great to wear a poncho and not look like Clint Eastwood in a Spaghetti Western!

p1000414

I chose a cosy fleece in forest green for casual every-day-wear. Although this poncho could also be made in wool for a smarter look. Its so versatile.

The cowl neck and hoody style pocket hand warmer are fantastic features and really make this poncho. I also like the hi-low hem which looks dramatic.

p1000435

I lined the cowl neck with a contrasting cotton fabric in a tiny floral print. The cowl neck means that I do not need to wear a scarf to keep my neck warm – its a winner! I cut the S/M size and a L size for the bottom as I wanted a longer length. The poncho took 2 yards of 54″ wide fabric.

This poncho makes a really warm, cosy and comfortable sporty outerwear garment for the chilly winter weather.

Ladies, go and pop on a poncho!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Cape/Poncho. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Popover Poncho – April Rhodes

  1. Ibble says:

    I love how this could be slipped on even over a coat for those extra winter days. Lovely warm pocket so useful to back up or substitute gloves!

    Like

  2. Looks good Caroline, very elegant with that cowl neck. Clint Eastwood would be envious!

    Like

Comments are closed.