Modest Fashion

The first London Modest Fashion Week started yesterday at the Saatchi Gallery. The show’s main focus is Muslim fashion. However, modesty can apply to all women regardless of their faith and even to women of no faith. Faith can be fashionable!

Modesty means high necklines and low hemlines. Nothing clingy or too revealing.

Box Dress no.2 - SDB

Box Dress no.2 – SDB

I think a woman loses her decency and dignity when her lack of dress leaves her body overexposed. Take a look at some celebrities who parade in public wearing little more than their underwear! Its sad that girls want to emulate them.

There is a lot of pressure on women to look sexy – take a look at fashion magazines, ads, the catwalk, film and music videos. However, there is a difference between sexy and trashy (flashing the flesh).

My style icons are Jacqueline Kennedy and Audrey Hepburn. Beautiful women who were stylish, classy and graceful.

Image result for jackie kennedy style

The modesty, simplicity and relaxed fit of Japanese fashion is also appealing to me.

One reason I started sewing my own clothes was that I was frustrated by the skimpy and clingy dresses in high street stores. I need to feel comfortable wearing clothes. Also I feel the cold and so need to be warm!

The people who read my blog know that my clothing is modest. I like knee length or longer hemlines. I do not show cleavage. I do not wear body-con dresses.

A woman can dress modestly and still look and feel beautiful. She does not need to flaunt her body to feel special. Modesty is also about behaviour and how you carry yourself.

I am sure there is a big market for modest wear. Here’s to covered-up chic!

What are your views on this? I would love to hear from you.

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Modest Fashion

  1. There is certainly a lot of interest in Muslim fashion at the moment, and I believe some important Muslim fashion houses emerging. Ironic considering all the race hatred being stirred up at the moment. I think the modest look ( if that is the word) has a long way to run

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      The Muslim fashion market is a huge one and the fashion houses should do well. All women want to look and feel good even if they are well covered up, they can still look beautiful and maintain their dignity.

      Like

  2. Ibble says:

    I actually think it’s great that the options for women’s clothing are so varied these days. Merely revealing skin is just passe. These days we have lots of colour and pattern and layering fabrics and pattern options. We can be very stylish and interesting in all sorts of more creative ways.

    Like

Comments are closed.