Corduroy Cleo – Tilly and the Buttons

p1000448

The Cleo pinafore/dungaree dress is my style of dress – versatile, comfortable and simple to make – so utility chic. I love the ‘all in one’ style of this dress with no waist seam, top pocket and front split. Tilly, this pattern is an absolute triumph!

p1000443

I have used a heavy weight navy blue corduroy fabric (blue is my favourite colour as you have probably realised) which gives the dress some structure. I chose the knee length version with front split which is appropriate for a 40 something woman.

p1000444

Tilly has a beautiful brand. I have also made the Coco (3 versions to date) and the Mathilde. The reason why I have not made more garments from Tilly’s patterns is that I think they look too ‘girly’ for me. I love the Cleo because it is a casual, practical utility garment which makes me feel comfortable. I need to feel comfortable wearing a dress otherwise I do not bother.

img-20140531-00885

I had the pleasure of meeting Tilly at the department store, Selfridges, about a couple of years ago where she was showcasing her business along with other entrepreneurs. It really made my day to have a photograph taken with her and we had a brief chat. I purchased a couple of patterns from the lovely lady herself.

The straight silhouette of this dress makes it look smart and I like it so much that I am already planning to make another Cleo in a black/grey denim. This has become my favourite pattern!

Have you made the Cleo?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Pinafore/Jumper and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Corduroy Cleo – Tilly and the Buttons

  1. Looks good. I like the corduroy

    Like

  2. Ibble says:

    Looks so adaptable! Great for winter with a warm top underneath or summer with a t shirt.

    Like

Comments are closed.