Box Dress (D) Makeover – Stylish Dress Book

The fabric of my Box Dress is a lightweight wool/cashmere blend and I love the texture as its so soft. However, the grey colour of the dress and the relaxed fit, made me look dowdy (like a nun) so I decided to give it a makeover with some black giant rickrack.

Rather than consign a garment to the back of the wardrobe, why not use some trim to jazz it up instead. I am so glad that I did! The rickrack has given the dress a different look.

There has been some high fashion nun-chic:

YSL HABIT

Back in the habit: Yves Saint Laurent

Valentino Pre-Fall 2014 <a href="http://Style.com" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">Style.com</a>

Valentino Pre-Fall 2014

Will nun-chic catch on?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Dress and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Box Dress (D) Makeover – Stylish Dress Book

  1. Ibble says:

    I really like the pockets on this. Lovely with the added detail and so practical too.

    Like

  2. i thought the grey looked smart. Could suit the work place

    Like

Comments are closed.