Bolero Cardigan/Shrug (#2) – Simply Sewn Book

Can you believe it? A garment that I have made which is not blue! I know that I need to be more adventurous with my colour choices.

This bolero cardigan/shrug was made from the Japanese sewing book of Simply Sewn: clothes for every season book by Michiyo Ito (the Designer of May Me). I liked my first bolero so much that I had to make another one. This type of garment is so versatile.

This time I had used a jersey knit that I bought from a fabric superstore on the beautiful island of Madeira. I was so enthralled with this superstore that my hubby lost his patience waiting for me and almost had to drag me out – I did not want to leave – it was pure fabric heaven!

This jersey is smooth, slinky and has a wonderful drape. The bolero consists of only 3 rectangles (1 for the body and 2 for the cuffs)- it is so simple to make. I have made the cuffs narrow for a smarter appearance.

If you are looking for a garment that is simple and quick to make, then this is it. I cannot recommend it enough!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and photography.
This entry was posted in Cardigan/Shrug. Bookmark the permalink.