Baggy Capris – Simply Sewn Book

P1000599

These Baggy Capris were made from the Japanese sewing book of Simply Sewn: clothes for every season book by Michiyo Ito (the Designer of May Me). Please look at my Bolero Cardigan/Shrug post for this book review.

P1000617

The book recommends using a cotton fabric but I decided to take a risk and made my capris from a mid-weight denim fabric. It is still too cold for me to wear cotton trousers/pants! I would prefer to wear these capris with the waistband covered.

P1000607

I like the midi-length of the capris and that they look like streamlined culottes. I love culottes (having made 3 pairs) but its nice to make trousers/pants that have a slight flare rather than a divided skirt. P1000631

I stitched along the top of the waistband before inserting the elastic which prevents the elastic from rolling. There are back pleated pockets. Denim gives  these capris a smarter and more structured appearance. I would also like to make capris in lighter weight fabrics.

Sometimes it is worth taking a risk and using different fabrics than the ones recommended. You may have a nice surprise! Have you ever done this?

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and musicals.
This entry was posted in Japanese, Trousers/Pants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baggy Capris – Simply Sewn Book

  1. Melissa says:

    Cute capris! I have tried different fabrics for things and it’s always a surprise how different a pattern will work in one fabric over another. I want to try out more pants this year as I haven’t found a pair that I am absolutely in love with.

    Like

Leave a comment