Dotty Dungaree Dress – Marilla Walker

Many a sewist has made this dungaree dress from The Roberts Collection by Marilla Walker, although mine is a dotty one. This sewing pattern contains an amazing 4 garments (dungaree dress, dungarees, jumpsuit and t-shirt). Its a winner, Marilla!

I think that you cannot beat this style of dress as its so practical, versatile, comfortable and its great for layering. You can wear it with a t-shirt in the summer or with a long-sleeved top and cardigan in the winter. My clothing style is more utilitarian than girlie so this dress is right up my street.

This polka dot denim (medium weight) is perfect for a dungaree dress. I made View C (midi length), size 2 and the dress has enough ease for me to put on without side closures. For my first Dungaree Dress, I had cut a size 3 but it was far too big and needed altering. The side pockets are nice and roomy.

The first time my hubby saw me wear this dress, he asked me “Are you about to cook?” (implying that it looks like an apron)!

I have also made the Dungarees but I do prefer the dress.

A dungaree dress is a good wardrobe staple, and once you make one, you will be hooked!

About Caroline

I am a sewing/dressmaking/travel enthusiast and blogger who loves modern Japanese style and vintage inspired style. I also like to travel/visit places of interest, countryside walks and musicals.
This entry was posted in Pinafore/Jumper and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dotty Dungaree Dress – Marilla Walker

  1. Smart and practical. Ignore your rude husband!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Susan says:

    Lovely dress. The polka dot material really suits the style.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment